Untold Beauty : A response to “DARK GIRLS”

natural hair rules_thumb[3]        This past Sunday the Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) aired a documentary, by Bill Duke, titled “Dark Girls”. Being a woman of deep toned skin I was both concerned and optimistic about this documentary. Concerned with questions about if our story will be told correctly from the eyes of a male and how will his own personal views on the black woman and her beauty affect the editing of this documentary. Optimistic because I believed it would bring light to how women are treated because of their skin and that racial issues still exist, even within our community. With all this being said… I don’t think I was represented at all in this film.

I hoped that it would show proud BLACK women – of all cultures and backgrounds standing firm in SELF LOVE… it did not. After watching this twice the night it aired I found myself really disappointed. I do not wish to take anything from this film. I can fully appreciate the exploring of how the misperceptions of what beauty entails affects people who do not fit that standard. I definitely appreciate this discussion being brought out on a global scale from the living rooms and dining tables of every nation to the forefront. For that I am grateful. It is no secret that slavery on this continent has been the major factor that has caused this defined line of color discrimination.

Original Goddess    The oppression of Africans in America with unnatural false set of beliefs enforced by Westerners and its media has thrown the largest jab at the BLACK community across the globe. Especially to those who have more melanin. In this short documentary there was a lot of preference talk from men. (For me) This was not helpful to hear their responses when it came to skin color. It made no sense. Of course all black men don’t like the deepest toned women the same as all white men don’t like the palest of skin. Interracial dating is not going anywhere and more people are marrying outside of their cultures. This information was pointless and was just another way to send global negativity of the “dark girl”.

The major problem that I had with this film is that our beauty was confirmed by everyone else except the black women themselves! Which I found retarded and unrealistic. Most of these woman appeared to still have baggage of childhood memories. They displayed them on their sleeves as if those thoughts still effects their current lives. And even when some said that it no longer mattered they were not proud black women, but merely content with who they were. Bill Duke did not show us any strong black women in this short documentary, which saddens me because he himself is a dark man. I feel that his views, shaped by the western world, has had a total effect on his editing.

There was minimal positivity toward the black woman. The highest point was a snippet of an Ethiopian woman who claimed that dark skin in some parts of East African was still a badge of honor, but soon was over and followed up by sad faced crying women. Again I can appreciate the discussion being brought out to the table, but (in my eyes) it was a fail. A pity party. Black Woman

My argument for this documentary is a simple one. What angle of the “Dark Girls”, which should have been titled dark WOMEN, were you trying to show? Is there no deep toned women who feel that their dark skin has no effect on their relationships – personal or business? Is there no dark skin women who know that their skin is actually a badge of honor? Where are the women who have been taught from birth that they are beautiful? Has no one ever taught a dark skin woman to have self love??

I am completely unsure of the underlying effect this documentary wanted to have on its viewers, but I am sure that to empower our young dark skin women was no one of them. To try and cover all the dimensions of this type of conversation I feel that this should have been a series told by the black woman herself. This documentary is just that… just another.

About Dutchess Williams
Daughter. Sister. Mother. Miliant by Choice. Natural hair blogger. Shoe lover. Poet. I choose to be optimistic with all of life's events and people. I like to write as a form of expression and as a driven woman I can stand some great adventures. I am who I am naturally.

10 Responses to Untold Beauty : A response to “DARK GIRLS”

  1. BlackBeauty says:

    I absolutely agree with you.

    The film, in my opinion, did not show the dark hued women who are successful, married or have great men (of all colors), are educated, have the job or their dreams, or at least working close to it, have homes, children, and live happy, normal lives!

    Why did it not show these women? The focus seemd to be on those who are disfunctional, unhappy, and I hate to say it, but many were rather unattractive, self absorbed, and just played the “woe is me game”.

    The women I know do not wait for something or someone to rescue them. They go out and work towards what they want in life and they are all colors/hues. They have self respect, are not looking to star in the next hot video, and could care less.

    The film was slanted, and did not show the beautiful, educated, well adjusted black women that represents us very welll.

    Anyone notice the the top ladies who earn the most, are the most notable, are DARK SKINNED women. All of them are excellent! Not one allowed her color to hold her back from moving forward in their life with what they wanted to accomplish.

    End of the story.

    • Absolutely. I was even confused on how this aired on OWN when Oprah herself has the fortune, fame and accomplishments she has because she is a dark WOMAN. And thank you BlackBeauty for you honest opinion.

      • LC says:

        We as a people and community must learn to embrace our power. Too many with power are still afraid to exercise it to empower self and community. We as a community must also be supportive of each other. Too many members of our community behave like crabs in a basket. Persons envious and jealous of the accomplishments of others. Persons who would rather help others before lifting a hand to empower their own community.

    • LC says:

      Yes! Black women moving powerfully through the world are rarely portrayed. Confident, secure women proudly living in their lovely rich melanin kissed skin with dignity. Women who though attacked by individuals and a society which marginalizes and disparages them continue to stand tall, firmly rooted in love of self.

  2. Thanks for your comment on my blog I appreciate it 🙂

    Now I totally agree with you it’s like I said it lacked women giving the other prospective of those who grew up in love with their skin tone with no issues. I’ve seen this in my personal life from the angles of being on the receiving end of a woman who didn’t love her skin tone and took it out on me, I’ve heard a dark woman refer to herself as ‘tar baby’ several times.

    It did carry the baggage of negativity, the men also. It didn’t have a fair balance it made it seem that this is all darker toned women felt.

    Love your post and I hope you can see where I came from in mine.

    • I did. And thank you for your support and honest opinions. Much love

  3. LC says:

    We as Black women are the only ones who can define who we are. We are the ones living in our skins! We must continue to empower ourselves and future generations. We do this by living love of self daily, by our actions and words! Thank you, Kindred Kinks for joining with other kindred spirits in the empowering of Black women and girls everywhere.

    • You are totally welcome LC. It is my responsibility because each generation will be better than us! And thank you for honest opinions ❤

  4. vmankss says:

    Reblogged this on the chronicles of a high school senior.

  5. Tanya says:

    In Europe and America continued discrimination against black people.

    I guess is now more fashionable to discriminate and insult to the people with more whiter skin, something not very common in Europe.

    Only want to let intermediate tones .. want everyone looks alike.

    Only is fashionable to have bronze skin, never white nor black.

    This is racism and discrimination against black and white people.

    We must denounce this.

Leave a Reply

