Hair Touching… Is it weird?

hair humor      Since I’ve been rocking my natural curlz and kinks I’ve noticed that people are actually curious and opinionated about my hair. Much more than when I was perming. I receive feel good compliments such as, “Wow! You really look good with natural hair. I like this look better on you.” Then there is the back hand compliments, “Well damn. Your natural hair is maaad nappy. When you perming it (lml). Sike nah, it looks good on you.” My face afterward =  -___- this chick just tried to blow my high (smh). And then there is THE REACH.

Out of all the responses one can get, this one leaves me the most puzzled on how to react to someone. I mean I totally understand their curiosity. There has been days when I am in the mirror amazed at how my hair spits in the face of gravity everyday. I pull on strands to release it slowly to see the curl pattern. I even gave myself a headache because it finally moves when I shake it. Truthfully, I don’t mind people wanting to touch my textured fro, but only when they ASK! It gives me a chance to chat it up about my 4c, the natural and store bought products I use and I can answer any questions or concerns they may have about doing it themselves. In my head I’m the star of the party, which is right up the alley of a Leo woman.

We, meaning family – friends and complete strangers, can chat as long as I have the time. Even joke about perms and hot combs. However, what I can’t stand is when we haven’t been properly introduced – or even if we have – and that individual just starts tugging on my hair asking questions. It drives me crazy… bout to slap her/him and #YeenEVENknoIT (LML)!! Oh hell no. They don’t even know how long it took me to play around with this 4c to get this defined braid out and now they messing it up. This is the part when I tilt the head, do the hand wave and make the face (0_O). That’s right I’m confused. Confused on how the hell am I now the rude one for not allowing you to pull on my hair. Next, it is the awkward silence.

I don’t know ladies. Am I handling the hair tuggers the right way?? It isn’t breaking up any friendships, but I know they probably feel some kind of way. Is it really my problem tho? Complete strangers I am not to concerned about, because they are rude for doing it. Has anyone else been thru similar experiences in their natural hair journey? If so, please share your story or comment below.

(P.S – My dentist is the worst of them all! An Asian woman.)

 

Sincerely….

A Yahweh loving shoe fanatic named Dutchess.

About Dutchess Williams
Daughter. Sister. Mother. Miliant by Choice. Natural hair blogger. Shoe lover. Poet. I choose to be optimistic with all of life's events and people. I like to write as a form of expression and as a driven woman I can stand some great adventures. I am who I am naturally.

Leave a Reply

