My when it “feels right” hair care regimen.

Being or going natural takes effort, especially when dealing with 4c hair textures. Tons of naturals have a faithful hair care regimen scheduled by the days and time. Maybe their lives call for it.. and I hope they continue the good work. Me, not so much.

the odd ballI do clarify and moisturize. I also cowash and oil treat, but only when it “feels right”. This may seem strange at first because we hear so many agree that having a strict regimen helps their hair grow – which is the truth for them. Don’t put anyone else hair habits on yourself. You will naturally develop one. Learning your hair takes time. Think to yourself when was the last time you actually did not have a perm in months?? Been a while im sure.

Textures may also change after it becomes more healthy. Detangling will be come easier. You may start to use less product as well. And if that does happen, you can be sure that you may not have to cowash your hair as often as you do now. I know a few YouTube ladies who wash once a month. I’m not there yet… I need my edge control, lol.  Although we have the same hair texture type remember beauties that our strands are unique as our finger prints. So what works for some does not work for all. What works for me may be all wrong for you. Right now it probably crossed your mind that you don’t need a regimen, lol, think again. Don’t let me gass you ❤ .  I’m just simply stating what does me justice.

It works because I actually listen to my hair when she talks to me. When it’s not acting right and dull (not dry) it is time for a wash. When tea tree oil and my olive oil hair grease don’t sooth my itchy scalp I know it is time to clarify and remove residue build up. I moisturize daily, definitely because of recent temperatures, and I’m good. I actually like my not so strict regimen. It saves me from becoming a product junkie.

Sincerely…

A Yahweh loving shoe fanatic named Dutchess.

About Dutchess Williams
Daughter. Sister. Mother. Miliant by Choice. Natural hair blogger. Shoe lover. Poet. I choose to be optimistic with all of life's events and people. I like to write as a form of expression and as a driven woman I can stand some great adventures. I am who I am naturally.

Leave a Reply

