Yesterday’s “Good Hair” is gone!

Yeeeeea buddy! I finally cut my hair. I chose my much younger sister’s birthday to do so. Before doing my B.C I stated two weeks ago that I was going to do it.. but with procrastination and fear it took longer than what I would have liked. I wasn’t really in a rush all of a sudden. I was comfortable with my transitioning hair.

Image

My last perm was in May 2012 so by June new growth had already set in. I transition for 7 months before I completely thought MY HAIR IS FINE THE WAY IT GROWS OUT OF MY SCALP. Now that I see myself I look like my mom during the seventies in Harlem, NY. Love at first sight. Next on my list is to find hair products to moisturize and protect my coils from breakage.

Image

A daily hair regimen is a needed, can’t be avoided, should have had one yesterday kind of deal. So far I’ve noticed the typical grease doesn’t do it for my hair. Sure it keeps my scalp from being dry, but that’s about it. It just makes my hair heavy and hard to manage. My current moisturizing products are creams and butters rich in coconut oil, willow bark extract, aloe vera, extra virgin olive oil and shea butter. Knowing your hair texture and type is key!

While on the web I stumbled upon a website which gave me a waaaay better understanding about me. I encourage you ladies to check it out if you are on your natural journey as well. Overall I am happy with my decision. My transition is over. I am a Naturalista baby!

About Dutchess Williams
Daughter. Sister. Mother. Miliant by Choice. Natural hair blogger. Shoe lover. Poet. I choose to be optimistic with all of life's events and people. I like to write as a form of expression and as a driven woman I can stand some great adventures. I am who I am naturally.

Leave a Reply

